340th Aradhana (2011) Awards

Sri Raghavendranugraha is the most prestigious award presented in Sri Raghavendra Teerthara Matha. In order to recognize the remarkable service rendered in the field of Dwaita Philosophy, His Holiness 108 Sri Sushameendra Teertharu instituted this award. Award comprises Phala Mantrakshate, a citation,  Rs. 1,00,000/- cash prize with a Certificate. The very first award was conferred on Sri Suvidyendra Teertha in His Poorvashrama (Vidwan Sri Guruvenkatacharya).  Subsequently the title has adorned many others personalities including our former President Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam.

While continuing His Guru's tradition, His Holiness 108 Sri Suyateendra Teertharu has extended this award to the field of Social Service as well. He has chosen Renowned Scholar Sri Gunhal Venkobacharya (Posthumously) and Smt. Sudha Murthy of Infosys Foundation to felicitate with Raghavendranugraha Award during the 340th Aradhana Mahotsava.

And on the same occasion, another prestigious title of the Matha, Asthana Vidwan will also be presented. Every year a world class musician will be chosen by Sri Srigalu for this title. Internationally renowned Mridangist Sri Guru Karaikkudi Mani will be awarded this year. This title comprises Phala Mantrakshate, citation and Rs.50000 cash.

Along with the above awards, a special award also will be conferred during Aradhana Mahotsava. Sri Suyateendra Teertharu has established this award in the name of Sri Rayaru and Sri Sushameendra Teertharu. Meaningfully, the award is named as Sushami-Raghavnedra Prashasti. Popular leader and generous donor of Bellary city Sri N. Sooryanarayana Reddy will be receiving this honour during this Aradhana. This award comprises Phala Mantrakshate, citation and Rs.50000 cash.

A few lines about the Awardees.

Gunhal Venkobachar

Mamahopadhyaya Gunhal Venkobacharya (Posthumously) : Raghavendranugraha

Venkobacharya is considered one among the top class scholars of all time. He was the resident scholar of our matha during 50s. He was an icon of out-standing talent in Tarka & Vedanta. History says, the then pontiffs of all Mutt used to take his help in establishing Madhwa Sidhanta. The present day`s senior generation of Vedic Teachers are his contribution only. His Sanskrit compositions on Rayaru reveals his devotion on Rayaru and grip over the language.





Sudha Narayana Murthy to receive Raghavendranugraha Award

Padmashree Dr. Smt. Sudha Narayanamurthy : Raghavendranugraha

Smt. Sudha Murthy is a social worker and accomplished author. She is known for her philanthropic work through the Infosys Foundation. Among other things, she has initiated a move to provide all government schools in Karnataka with computer and library facilities. She also teaches computer science and writes fiction. She has written many stories, mostly published by Penguin, which deal with common lives and her views on donations, hospitality and realisation. She also focuses on social works. In 2006, she was awarded the Padma Shri by Govt. of India




Madurai mani Iyer to receive Asthana Vidwan TitleVidwan Guru Karaikkudi Mani Iyer. (Asthana Vidwan)

Guru Kaaraikkudi Mani is a renowned mridangist around the world. He is the pioneer in bringing Mridangam to the centre stage. He also gave a new dimension with the fusion of the Mridangam with other traditional instruments such as Thavil and Chendai. He has presented many Lec-Dem programmes all over the world. Students and enthusiasts have greatly benefited from these programs.




Sooryanarayana ReddyN. Soorya Narayana Reddy

Sri N. Sooryanarayana Reddy is an enterprenure, social activist, political leader and a generous donor. The service rendered by him for Srimatha is worth thousand apprecitions . His intense devotion on Sri Raghavendra Maha Prabhugalu has made Srigalu to bestow His blessings with this special honour.